Facebook YouTube Twitter RSS

Album Preview: Demi Lovato Dabbles In R&B And Pop On “Unbroken” Song Snippets

Demi Lovato‘s been trying her hand at genres other than pop lately. She went for a more soulful sound on her last album, Here We Go Again, and she’s taking that to the next level on her new album, Unbroken.

Demi gets into R&B territory with songs like All Night Long featuring Missy Elliott and Timbaland, Who’s That Boy featuring Dev and what will surely be a stand out, In Real Life.

Big pop ballads continue to be a hot spot for the former Disney star. Lightweight, which she revealed some of the lyrics for, sounds truly delicious and Fix A Heart, even in a snippet, sounds like a tearjerker.

What sounds like a possible sour spot is the Iyaz-featured You’re My Only Shorty. Besides the use of the dated word “shorty” (also see “shawty”), the track loses the more mature ground Demi seems to be shooting for. As with any 30 second snippet, opinions can change and judgement will be reserved for the full track.

Unbroken, Demi’s third studio album, will be released on September 20. Look at the tracklisting below and follow along to the album sampler.


1. All Night Long – featuring Missy Elliott and Timbaland
2. Who’s That Boy – featuring Dev
3. You’re My Only Shorty – featuring Iyaz
4. Together – featuring Jason Derulo
5. Lightweight
6. Unbroken
7. Fix a Heart
8. Hold Up
9. Mistake
10. Give Your Heart a Break
11. Skyscraper
12. In Real Life
13. My Love is Like a Star
14. For The Love of a Daughter
15. Skyscraper (Wizz Dumb Remix)

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Around The Web:


  1. love

  2. her new songs sound like a mix between j-lo, beyonce and jojo. but it doesn’t sound anything like something demi would be singing. it just doesn’t sound original. it sounds like some mainstream artists stuff. i miss demi’s rawness, not just her old vocals back when she was purging. her sound was more natural and so… her. i like a few of the songs, but not all of them are really her. i don’t think this is her best album yet. here we go again was definitely the best so far and that’s how it’s gonna stay until she releases one that’ll top that. i still love demi and i’m so proud of her <3

  3. Amazing! Can’t wait for the album to come out! :D Proud of her. Her new music suits her better because she grew up being taught as an R&B singer (Look up the interview she did with Ryan Seacrest a few months ago if you don’t believe me), not a pop-rock singer. This music, especially the ballads on this album showcase more of what she can do with that incredible voice she has. So proud of her! ?

  4. I love this album! So good! My fave’s are the slower songs though but i still like the fast upbeat ones as well.

  5. i hope everyone likes ‘In Real Life’ – written & produced by @Bleutopia (twitter) – so excited for this CD!

Sound Off!